English

How To: Clear or delete trusted storage for concurrent-use and single-use licenses

Summary

It is sometimes necessary to clear out the trusted storage for ArcGIS 10.x licensing. The instructions provided describe how to do this.

Note:
The steps described in this procedure include deleting files that may be hidden. To display hidden files, follow the directions in this Windows support document.

Procedure

To clear out the trusted storage:

  1. Close the License Administrator.
    • For concurrent-use licenses: Stop the License Manager service (License Server Administrator > Start/Stop License Service) and close the License Server Administrator.
    • For single-use licenses: Close the ArcGIS Administrator.
  2. Navigate to the FLEXnet folder. The locations of the trusted storage on a Windows machine for concurrent-use and single-use are as follows:
    • Windows XP and 2003 Server:
      C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet
      
    • Windows Vista, 7, 8, Server 2008, Server 2012:
      C:\ProgramData\FLEXNet
    • Location of the trusted storage on a UNIX/Linux machine for concurrent-use:
      /usr/local/share/macrovision/storage
  3. Either remove all of the ArcGIS_xxxxxxxx_tsf.data files within the FLEXNet folder, or create a new folder and move the files into the new folder. Make sure to remove the ArcGIS_xxxxxxxx_tsf.data files from the FlexNet folder.
  4. Verify that the licenses are removed.
    • For concurrent-use licenses, start the License Manager service (License Server Administrator > Start/Stop License Service) and close the License Server Administrator. Click the Availability folder to verify it has been cleared.
    • For single-use licenses, open the ArcGIS Administrator and click the Availability folder.
  5. Reauthorize the license. If unable to authorize licenses after following this process, refer to Recover lost licenses from My Esri for more information.

Related Information