HOW TO

Perform an ArcGIS Pro soft reset

First Published: June 2, 2022
Last Published: March 26, 2026

Summary

In ArcGIS Pro, issues related to application failure and crashing can occur if the registry entry is corrupted. Performing a soft reset resolves the issue by closing applications and clearing data in the RAM, in contrast to a hard reset, whereby user data are removed and the device is restored to its factory settings. This article describes the workflow to perform a soft reset in ArcGIS Pro.

Procedure

Note:
If there are concurrent licenses on the machine, return any borrowed licenses before performing the workarounds below. For more information on borrowed licenses, refer to ArcGIS Pro: Start ArcGIS Pro with a Concurrent Use license.
Note:
The AppData folder is hidden. To display hidden folders, refer to Microsoft Windows Support: Show hidden files. 
  1. Close all ArcGIS applications.
  2. Navigate to the AppData folder.
  3. Navigate to the Roaming and Local profiles.
  4. Navigate to and open the Esri folders.
  • Roaming profile:
C:\Users\YourUsername\AppData\Roaming\ESRI
  • Local profile:
 C:\Users\YourUsername\AppData\Local\ESRI
  1. Rename the ArcGISPro and ArcGISPro.exe_StrongName folders to ArcGISPro_old and ArcGISPro.exe_StrongName_old, respectively, in the Esri folders.
The Roaming folder with files to be renamed
The Local folder with files to be renamed
Note:
This information applies to ArcGIS Pro 2.9 and prior. At ArcGIS Pro 3.0, this folder is ArcGISPro_StrongName...

Article ID: 000027631

Software:
  • ArcGIS Pro

Get support with AI

Resolve your issue quickly with the Esri Support AI Chatbot.

Start chatting now

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Start chatting now

Go to download options