The instructions provided describe how to back up data from ArcGIS Online to a local machine as a preventative measure to save online content from being permanently deleted.
The best practice to back up an organization's content on ArcGIS Online is to save individual copies of the data to a local machine. The following steps are only applicable with data owned by, or shared with, an organization or user.
Warning: Any content deleted from an organization is permanently removed and cannot be recovered.
Note: Ensure to log in to ArcGIS Online as an administrator of the organization, or owner of the item being backed up, or the item is shared to the appropriate group, organization, or user. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Export data from hosted feature layers for more information.
To back up data types such as CSV or KML files, shapefiles, map, and layer packages:
To back up a hosted feature service (which is important if it is edited frequently by multiple users within an organization):
Note: To download the attachments of the desired data, refer to the instructions in How To: Download attachments from a hosted feature service.