Frequently asked question

What are FIPS codes?

Last Published: April 25, 2020


Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS), now known as Federal Information Processing Series, are numeric codes assigned by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Typically, FIPS codes deal with US states and counties. US states are identified by a 2-digit number, while US counties are identified by a 3-digit number. For example, a FIPS code of 06071, represents California -06 and San Bernardino County -071.

The former Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 55 database has been merged with the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) and has ceased to exist as a separate entity. Former FIPS 55 data have been incorporated into the GNIS.

Article ID:000002594

Receive notifications and find solutions for new or common issues

Get summarized answers and video solutions from our new AI chatbot.

Download the Esri Support App

Related Information

Discover more on this topic

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options