Frequently asked question

Does the ArcGIS Administrator allow switching of the License Manager or the software seat type?

Last Published: May 30, 2023


Yes, with certain caveats.

The ArcGIS Administrator allows switching between the ArcGIS Desktop and ArcGIS Engine for Basic, Standard and Advanced single use licenses, as well as concurrent use licenses.

For Esri CityEngine, the ArcGIS Administrator allows switching between Basic or Advanced single use licenses, as well as Advanced concurrent use licenses.

With the exception of CityEngine, full use of the ArcGIS Administrator on Windows or Linux operating systems requires that the user have permissions to write to the following registry keys:

For 32-bit operating systems:

  • HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{E6BDAA76-4D35-11D0-98BE-00805F7CED21}

For 64-bit operating systems:

  • HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{E6BDAA76-4D35-11D0-98BE-00805F7CED21}

If these permissions are not granted, the user is only able to view the information found under the Availability section of the ArcGIS Administrator. All other ArcGIS Administrator functionality is disabled.

In a network environment, it is not recommended to give Domain Users or Authenticated Users permissions to these registry keys. If this is done, computer functionality slows to a crawl. It is recommended to give full control permissions to the local users group in order to authenticate everything locally, rather than across the domain.

Article ID:000013228

  • ArcGIS CityEngine Prev
  • ArcMap
  • ArcGIS Engine

Receive notifications and find solutions for new or common issues

Get summarized answers and video solutions from our new AI chatbot.

Download the Esri Support App

Discover more on this topic

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options