ERROR

Error updating role for the selected member

Last Published: May 18, 2021

Error Message

In ArcGIS Online, when attempting to update a member’s role to a default Viewer, Data Editor, or custom role, the following error message is returned.

Error:   
Error updating role for the selected member.
The error message

Cause

This issue occurs when the member does not have the ‘Create, update, and delete’ privilege and is a group member of a shared update group. A member of a shared update group without the ‘Create, update, and delete’ privilege cannot be assigned a default Viewer, Data Editor, or custom role.

Solution or Workaround

Use one of the methods below to resolve the issue.

Note:
Only organization administrators can perform the workflows.

Assign the required privilege to the member in the shared update group

For the member to remain in the shared update group, enable the Create, update, and delete option in the General privileges settings of the custom role, and assign it to the member. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Configure member roles for more information.

The General privileges settings window.

Remove the member from the shared update group

To assign a default Viewer, Data Editor, or custom role without the Create, update, and delete privilege to a member, click Remove member from group to remove the member from the shared update group. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Manage groups for a specific member for more information.

Assign a default role to the member

Change the member’s role to a default role such as User, Publisher, or Administrator. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Change member roles for more information.

Article ID:000025589

Software:
  • ArcGIS Online

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic