English

Problem: Unable to synchronize a replica after changing the user password

Description

A security breach may require a password change for the existing user. However, after changing the password, it is not possible to synchronize a replica. In some cases, the following message is returned:

Error:   
"Check your username and password and be sure the maximum number of connections to the database have not exceeded"

Cause

The replica remembers the old connection string. With the password reset, the replica is unable to connect to the geodatabase, which leads to the synchronization failure.

Solution or Workaround

Manually navigate to the new database connection on the Synchronize wizard.

  1. Create a new database connection with the new password.
  2. Open the Synchronize wizard from the Catalog tree by right-clicking the geodatabase or geodata service, and click b>Distributed Geodatabase > Synchronize Changes.
  3. Select the replica to synchronize.
  4. Browse to the geodatabase containing the replica in the new database connection.

For more information on synchronizing replicas, refer to: Synchronizing connected replicas.

Related Information