English

Problem: Unable to edit a feature class from versioned data in ArcGIS Pro or ArcMap

Description

In ArcGIS Pro, editing a feature class from versioned data returns the following error message:

Error: 
Move failed: This data is currently locked by another user and cannot be saved.

In ArcMap, editing the same feature class from the versioned data returns the following error message:

Error: 
No editable layers, Layer or table is not registered as versioned.

Cause

This issue occurs because some of the feature classes are not registered as versioned, which usually occurs when a new feature class is added to the feature dataset.

Solution or Workaround

To resolve this issue, remove the unregistered feature class and re-register the feature dataset as versioned by following the instructions provided below.

ArcGIS Pro: Register as versioned through the Catalog tree
  1. In the Catalog tree, under the Projects pane, connect to the enterprise geodatabase that contains the feature dataset.
  2. Remove the unregistered feature class from the feature dataset.
  3. Right-click the feature dataset > Manage > Unregister As Versioned.
  4. Add the removed feature class into the feature dataset.
  5. To re-register the feature dataset, right-click the feature dataset > Manage > Register As Versioned.

    The picture showing the Manage option and Registered As Versioned option
     
ArcMap: Register as versioned through Catalog tree
  1. In the Catalog tree, connect to the enterprise geodatabase that contains the feature dataset.
  2. Remove the unregistered feature class from the feature dataset.
  3. Right-click the feature dataset > Manage > Unregister As Versioned.
  4. Add the removed feature class into the feature dataset.
  5. To re-register the feature dataset, right-click the feature dataset > Manage > Register As Versioned.

    Registered as versioned option and manage option
     
Note:
The workflows above prompt a dialog box with the option to move edits to base. For more information on registering as versioned with and without the option to move edits to base, refer to A quick tour of registering and unregistering data as versioned.

Register As Versioned prompt

Related Information