How To: Make an ArcGIS Online organization username available if it has been deleted from the organization and can no longer be used
Suppose an organization that started out with Built-in users now wants to implement Single Sign-on (Enterprise) logins. The naming convention for their Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) with the ArcGIS Online shortname may default to the same usernames that the built-in users had. When a new user sets up their Enterprise account in ArcGIS Online, it requires them to create a new username because the old one is taken.
To resolve this issue:
- Invite the user back to the organization using the third option: Invite members to join using an account of their choice.
- Use the same email that is associated with the old username that is to be removed.
- Select Disable Esri Access on their account on the Organization tab.
- Select Delete Member and username is now be able to be used.
Note: If the person with the username that is to be deleted does not remember which email was used to create the account, simply go through the Forgot username? link in the Sign In page to have Esri send the email to all associated accounts; it specifies which one is Public.
- ArcGIS Online Help: Invite and add members