FAQ: Is it possible to share specific features within a service to certain users in ArcGIS Online?
Is it possible to share specific features within a service to certain users in ArcGIS Online?
No, it is not possible to specify particular features within a feature service that can only be viewed by specific groups or users in ArcGIS Online.
However, an alternative method can be used to make certain features within a feature service available to specific users. This requires separating the needed features from the original feature service and creating individual feature services. These individual feature services are then published individually to ArcGIS Online and shared to the designated group of users. The feature service that includes all of the features can remain private and this limits the access to features that have been published separately.
Feature services can be shared through ArcGIS Online using three general options:
• Share item with an organization
• Share item with a group
• Share item with public
Keep in mind, these share options refer to feature services as a whole and not to specific layers of a feature service.
For more information on sharing documents to ArcGIS Online, refer to the link below.
ArcGIS Online Help: Share items
- ArcGIS Web Help: What is a feature service?
- ArcGIS Online Help: What is a group?
- ArcGIS Online Help: Invite and add members
- ArcGIS Online Help: Publish features