Error: Loaded data could not be saved because the target version has been updated since your started loading
When loading data into a feature or object class that is not registered as versioned, the following error is displayed if during the loading process, another session updates the sde.DEFAULT version:
"Loaded data could not be saved because the target version has been updated since your started loading. The version has been redefined to reference a new database state. [SDE.DEFAULT]"
This is the result when the sde.DEFAULT version has been modified by another session, either by directly editing the DEFAULT version and saving or posting a version to the DEFAULT version.
Prior to ArcGIS 9.2, the load data command starts an explicit edit session on the workspace or version the connection in ArcCatalog references. At the end of the load operation, the process attempts to save the edit session and discovers the version has been modified to reference a new geodatabase state.
The data being loaded into the feature or object class is still committed to the database because the inserts are written directly to the business table.
Solution or Workaround
Create a new version, connect in ArcCatalog to the new version and proceed to load the data. Since the data is written directly to the business table and you are the only 'editor' for the version, the version continues to reference the same geodatabase state when the load operation completes.
This is not an issue with ArcGIS 9.2 because an edit session is not explicitly started when the data is loaded into an non-versioned feature or object class.