|Submitted||Nov 01, 2016|
|Modified||Jul 25, 2018|
|Applies To||ArcGIS Online|
In ArcGIS Online, provide an information message to Administrators who are deleting members telling them that if Esri Access is enabled for the member the username will persist as an ArcGIS Public account and not be usable again within the organization.
1. Provide the appropriate/comparable step by step workflow to help illustrate the request.
See the enhancement description. This will most likely be an issue when an organization has been using a standardized naming workflow and then switches over to enterprise log ins.
Creating enterprise log ins will attempt to create a username such as firstinitiallastname_org. However, if there was already that username existing in the organization, and if that user had Esri Access enabled, and the Administrator deleted the user, the username will still exist as a public account. This is not obvious or intuitive to the Administrator, even though it is documented.
2. What is the problem feature X is trying to solve? (i.e. What is the problem/limitation/design choice that is preventing the customer from moving forward?)
By providing this information message, it will be very clear to an Administrator exactly what will happen when they delete a member of their organization. The message should clearly state under what circumstances the username won't actually be deleted from the ArcGIS Online system, meaning that it wouldn't be available for use again as the name created by setting up enterprise log ins.
3. What are the benefits or changes that would result from the enhancement? (i.e. How does making this change help the customer's workflow or business?)
The Administrator who is deleting a member would be fully informed of what will actually happen in the background with the username.