Frequently asked question

What is the difference between ArcView, ArcEditor, and ArcInfo capabilities in the ArcGIS suite?

Last Published: April 25, 2020


ArcGIS for Desktop is available in three license levels - ArcView, Arc Editor, and ArcInfo. Starting at ArcGIS 10.1 these same levels are re-named to Basic, Standard, and Advanced, respectively.

All three license levels provide the tools and environment for map creation and interactive visualization. Additionally, the ArcEditor and ArcInfo license levels add multiuser editing and advanced data management capabilities. The ArcInfo license includes functionality for advanced analysis, high-end cartography, and extensive database management.

To learn more about the specific differences between the three license levels, download the the ArcGIS 10 for Desktop Functionality Matrix

Article ID:000002706

  • ArcMap

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic