PROBLEM

DWG files with the same coordinate system do not align in ArcGIS Pro

First Published: October 22, 2025
Last Published: June 4, 2026

Description

In ArcGIS Pro, a DWG (CAD) layer appears misaligned with other map layers even though the same coordinate system is defined for both datasets. In some cases, the DWG layer remains offset after a spatial reference is assigned or the same projected coordinate system is applied.

The map below shows the DWG line (indicated in pink color) misaligned with the reference line (indicated in blue color) despite sharing the same coordinate system.

The image shows the DWG line (pink) misaligned with the reference line (blue)

Cause

DWG formats do not natively support ArcGIS Pro spatial reference systems. Defining a projection does not alter the CAD geometry or relocate its origin (0,0) to a geographic location. It only enables ArcGIS Pro to interpret and display the data within the specified coordinate system. As a result, misalignment persists when the CAD data is created in a local or non-georeferenced coordinate space.

Solution or Workaround

Use the Move georeferencing tool to move the entire DWG dataset at once, or use the Move feature editing tool to move only selected features.

Move the entire DWG dataset

  1. Open the project in ArcGIS Pro.
  2. In the Contents pane, select the targeted misaligned DWG layer.
  3. Move the misaligned DWG dataset to align with the reference line. Save the transformation to georeference the DWG dataset.
  4. On the Georeference tab, in the Close group, click Close Georeference.

Move features by selection

  1. Open the project in ArcGIS Pro.
  2. Click on the Analysis tab. In the Geoprocessing group, click Tools.
  3. In the Geoprocessing pane, search for and click CAD To Geodatabase (Conversion Tools). Run the tool to convert the DWG dataset to a geodatabase feature dataset.
  4. On the View tab, in the Windows group, click Catalog Pane.
  5. In the Catalog pane, on the Project tab, expand Folders. Locate the geodatabase output from the converted DWG and identify the misaligned feature layer.
  6. Right-click the misaligned feature layer and select Add To Current Map.
  7. In the Contents pane, turn off all other layers except the misaligned feature layer.
  8. On the Edit tab, in the Selection group, click Select This is the Select icon.
  9. On the map, select the misaligned features.
The image shows selected features on the map
  1. In the Contents pane, turn on the reference line layer for visual reference.
  2. On the map, move the selected features to align them with the reference line.
  3. Click Finish This is the Finish icon.
  4. On the Edit tab, in the Manage Edits group, click Save > Yes.

The map shows the DWG line (indicated in pink color) aligned with the reference line (indicated in blue color).

The image shows the DWG line feature (pink) aligned with the reference line (blue)

Article ID: 000038679

Software:
  • ArcGIS Pro

Get support with AI

Resolve your issue quickly with the Esri Support AI Chatbot.

Start chatting now

Related Information

Discover more on this topic

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Start chatting now

Go to download options