When a user attempts to change the name of a layer in the Table of Contents, the name of the source shapefile remains unchanged.
If a copy of a layer or an additional layer's name is changed in the Table of Contents, the name is only changed for display purposes. The actual source file name is not changed by updating the name in the Table of Contents.
Get help from ArcGIS experts
Download the Esri Support App