In the event the Table of Contents is not visible, use the following method to restore it.
Note: If the original Normal.mxt (the one renamed to Normal1.mxt) is not customized, the template can be deleted. If the template is customized, rename it to an appropriate name for easy reference but do not delete it.
Get help from ArcGIS experts
Download the Esri Support App