Summary
In ArcGIS Pro 3.6 and later, deleting, renaming, or moving a default geodatabase associated with a project, or making it inaccessible outside ArcGIS Pro, causes ArcGIS Pro to automatically create a new default geodatabase when the project is reopened.
This behavior can result in unnecessary geodatabases, and the workflow provided below repairs and prevents these geodatabases from being recreated.
Procedure
- Open the project in ArcGIS Pro.
- Click Project > Options.
- In the Options dialog box, click General.
- Click Repair Project Items to open the drop-down list.
- Under Default Geodatabase Handling, select Prompt to specify a different geodatabase.
- Click OK.
- In the Catalog pane, click Databases to open the drop down-list.
- Right-click the geodatabase and select Show In File Explorer.
- In the Windows File Explorer window, delete the recently created geodatabase folder.
- Close and re-open the ArcGIS Pro project.
- When prompted with the Project Item Repair dialog box, click the Select Default Geodatabase
button to browse and select an existing geodatabase or create a new one in a specific location.