Frequently asked question

What are the best practices when changing the ArcGIS Server service account?

Last Published: March 13, 2024

Answer

ArcGIS Server is an essential server software component of ArcGIS Enterprise that enables the sharing of geographic information within the organization. The ArcGIS Server service account initiates and halts processes, manages the reading and writing of data to specific file system locations, and facilitates communication between different machines. There is occassionally a need to change the ArcGIS Server service account for reasons such as enforcing the policy changes of a company, updating security requirements and troubleshooting issues. To change the ArcGIS Server service account, run the Configure ArcGIS Server Account utility. Refer to ArcGIS Enterprise: Change the ArcGIS Server account for instructions.

By default, permissions to access folders are automatically enabled for the ArcGIS Server account. As best practice, check to ensure permissions have been granted after changing the ArcGIS Server service account. Refer to ArcGIS Enterprise: Permissions to grant to the ArcGIS Server account for instructions. If full permissions are not granted to the ArcGIS Server service account, accessing ArcGIS Enterprise components may return the following error:

Error:
Unauthorized

Article ID:000032179

Software:
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 11 2
  • ArcGIS Server
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 11 0
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 11 1

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic