Frequently asked question

Is it possible to undo changes made to a feature dataset after saving the edits in ArcGIS Pro?

Last Published: March 11, 2022

Answer

No, it is not possible to undo changes made to a feature dataset after saving the edits in ArcGIS Pro in non-versioned datasets. Changes made to a dataset are permanent and cannot be recovered after clicking Save Save icon.

However, edits can be made in versioned datasets, and it is possible to decide later if those changes must be made permanent or discarded during the reconcile process. This is because the original or ancestor dataset is preserved, and changes can only be made to other named versions of the dataset. Consider using either traditional or branch versioning when working on crucial datasets. Refer to ArcGIS Pro: Overview of versioning for more information.

Note:
Traditional and branch versioning are only available with the Standard or Advanced license.

Some best practices to avoid making unintentional changes in non-versioned datasets are described below.

  • Before clicking Save Save icon when making changes to a dataset, check if the edits made are intentional. Any unintentional change can be discarded by clicking Discard Discard icon. Refer to ArcGIS Pro: Discard edits for instructions and more information.
  • When working with important datasets, create backups so a project can be recovered when unintentional changes are made when editing datasets. Refer to ArcGIS Pro: Back up the project and ArcGIS Pro: Recover a project for instructions and more information.

Article ID:000027325

Software:
  • ArcGIS Pro 2 8 x
  • ArcGIS Pro 2 7 x
  • ArcGIS Pro 2 x

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic