Frequently asked question

Does Share Locator have the functionality to disable data copying when publishing?

Last Published: October 2, 2023

Answer

In ArcGIS Pro, the Share Locator The Share Locator icon in ArcGIS Pro. option does not have the functionality to disable data copying when sharing locators as hosted services to ArcGIS Server. By default, ArcGIS Server allows publishers to package and copy service source data to ArcGIS Server machines during the publishing process. However, ArcGIS Server administrators may find it necessary to disable the automatic data copying functionality when publishers initiate the publishing process for various reasons. These reasons include performance optimization and enhancing efficiency, particularly in scenarios where substantial datasets are accumulated within the ArcGIS Server machines. As a workaround, refer to ArcGIS Server: Disable automatic data copying when publishing to ArcGIS Server for instructions to block data from being automatically copied to ArcGIS Server when publishing.

Article ID:000031247

Software:
  • ArcGIS Pro 3 0
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 11 1
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 11 0
  • ArcGIS Enterprise 10 9 x
  • ArcGIS Pro 3 1
  • ArcGIS Server

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic