ERROR

Unable to share editable layer publicly

Last Published: September 22, 2022

Error Message

In ArcGIS Online, when sharing an editable layer publicly, the following error message is returned:

Error:   
Unable to share editable layer publicly
To share publicly, first turn on the Public Data Collection option on the Settings tab of the layer’s item page then share again. For optimal performance and data integrity, please consider disabling editing or using a non-editable view layer.
The error message Unable to share editable layer publicly is returned.

Cause

This issue occurs when editing the hosted feature layer is enabled and public data collection is disabled.

Solution or Workaround

Depending on the way the layer is shared, the workarounds below are applicable.

Share the layer publicly and prevent editing

  1. Log in to ArcGIS Online and click Content > My Content.
  2. Browse to and click the hosted feature layer.
  3. On the item details page, click the Settings tab.
The Settings tab on the item details page of the hosted feature layer.
  1. In the General section, under Public Data Collection, check the Approve this layer to be shared with the public when editing is enabled. check box and click Save.
The Approve this layer to be shared with the public editing is enabled check box under Public Data Collection.
  1. Scroll down to the Feature Layer (hosted) section and uncheck the Enable editing check box.
  2. Click Save. The hosted feature layer can now be shared publicly.
The Enable editing check box under the Feature Layer (hosted) section and the Save button.
Note:
Alternatively, share the layer publicly by disabling both public data collection and editing. If both options are disabled, the Enable editing option can only be enabled by changing the Share setting back to Owner first. For more information, refer to ArcGIS Online: Allow or prevent editing on public layers.

Share the layer publicly and allow editing

  1. Enable the Enable editing option. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Settings that control editing access for the workflow.
  2. Check the Approve this layer to be shared with the public when editing is enabled. checkbox. Refer to ArcGIS Online: Allow or prevent editing on public layers for further instructions.
Note:
When sharing the layer after enabling public data collection, a warning message regarding optimal performance and data integrity is returned. Click Update to share the layer publicly.
The warning message Sharing editable layer publicly is returned.

Article ID:000028254

Software:
  • ArcGIS Online

Get help from ArcGIS experts

Contact technical support

Download the Esri Support App

Go to download options

Related Information

Discover more on this topic