In ArcGIS Online or Portal for ArcGIS, attempts to delete a group fail with the following error.
Error: This group is protected and cannot be deleted.
The ‘Delete protection’ setting is enabled in the group setting. In some instances, the ‘Delete protection’ setting cannot be disabled when the group is linked to a distributed collaboration.
Follow the instructions below to disable the group's Delete protection setting.
Note: For distributed collaboration groups, delete the collaboration or the collaboration workspace linked to the group before performing the following workflow.