In an ArcGIS Online organization with metadata disabled, if an item without existing metadata is overwritten from ArcGIS for Desktop, the metadata is automatically created.
Last Published: August 29, 2016ArcGIS Online
Bug ID Number
August 18, 2015
June 2, 2021
After review by the development team, it has been determined that this issue is related to a known limitation with the software that lies outside of Esri's control. The issue's Additional Information section may contain further explanation.
When publishing from ArcMap, metadata is always included and is readily available regardless of organization settings.
Option 1: To remove the metadata after publishing, enable metadata for the organization, navigate to the item, edit the metadata, and delete it. Disable metadata for the organization. However, this occurs each time a service is overwritten. Option 2: Upgrade to ArcGIS for Desktop 10.3 or ArcGIS for Desktop 10.3.1.