A published feature service with editor tracking enabled, edited through web map in a federated Portal for ArcGIS 10.3, does not record the created and edited user when the feature service is shared with everyone.
Last Published: December 21, 2017Portal for ArcGIS
Bug ID Number
February 23, 2015
February 14, 2023
Portal for ArcGIS
After review by the development team, it has been determined that this issue is related to a known limitation with the software that lies outside of Esri's control. The issue's Additional Information section may contain further explanation.
This is as designed. If the feature layer is shared with everyone (public), no user name is stored. Sharing the feature layer with everyone provides anonymous users the ability to edit the layer and therefore the user name is not stored when the feature is edited. The workaround is to share with the Organization or to a group.
Do not share the feature service with everyone. Create a group, and share the feature service with the group. Add users to this group.