Is This Content Helpful?
We're glad to know this article was helpful.
When working with the contents of a file geodatabase (for instance, adding a new feature class), a read lock is created. A read lock means other users are able to read the file, but are unable to edit the file. Only the first person who gets the read lock is allowed to edit the file. Together with the read lock, a timestamp file is automatically generated.
When a user creates a file geodatabase, a read lock is created. When the file geodatabase is copied, the read lock is copied along with it. When the user attempts to delete the copied lock, the deletion of the lock is not processed.
The read lock cannot be deleted due to the following reasons:
• The user may not have permission to delete the lock
• The file geodatabase is in still use by another application, such as ArcMap or ArcCatalog
When working with the contents of a file geodatabase, only delete the lock file. Do not delete the timestamp. Timestamp files must never be altered or deleted, as this corrupts the make-up of the geodatabase.
To perform the steps above, ensure nobody is accessing the data. Their work may not be saved as a result.