English

How To: Secure a layer file created from secure service if shared with a different user

Summary

A secured map service saved as a layer (lyr) file in ArcMap can be accessed by any user. There is no prompt to sign in when added to ArcMap. This is because the user/password information from the GIS connection is saved within the lyr file.

The steps provided describe how to secure a lyr file when sharing it with other users.

Procedure

  • To secure the service, make sure when creating the lyr file that the GIS Server User Connection has the 'Save Username/Password' option unchecked.
    [O-Image] GIS Connection Screen Shot
  • When adding the lyr file to ArcMap the user is then prompted to sign in.