English

How To: Disable the Save Username and Password check box in the New Spatial Database Connection dialog box

Summary

Instructions provided describe how to disable the Save Username and Password check box on the New Spatial Database Connection dialog box so that these settings cannot be persisted in the sde connection files. This prevents a user from connecting to data they should not have access to, even if they are provided with an sde connection file.

Procedure

Whether the Save Username and Password check box is enabled through the use of a registry setting can be controlled.

  1. Create a key called "DisableUsernamePasswordCheckBox" of type DWORD, under the following:

    ArcGIS 9.3.1

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESRI\Geodatabase\Settings


    ArcGIS 10.0 and later

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ESRI\Desktop###\Geodatabase\Settings

    Where Desktop### is the release of Desktop being used. For example, 10.0 is Desktop10.0 and 10.1 is Desktop10.1

    Note:
    If the 'Geodatabase\Settings' keys are not present in the registry path, create them.

  2. Set the value of the registry setting to 1 to disable the Save Username and Password check box. A value of 0 or any other value results in the default behavior; the check box is enabled.

    Once set, the check box is disabled.
    [O-Image]