Is This Content Helpful?
We're glad to know this article was helpful.
If ArcPad data collected in the field does not check in properly or if the ArcPad check-in tool is not available after starting a GPS edit session (if using GPS Analyst) or after starting a regular Edit session (if using standard ArcPad tools in ArcMap), a fake checkout of the original data has to be done in order to get the new data checked in.
Because the checkout transaction is stored in C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\Application
Data\ESRI\ArcMap\APtrans.log, there are multiple reasons why a 'fake' checkout needs to be performed:
1. A checkout transaction is removed from the log file when a check-in is performed. If field data is not in the checkout folder when the check-in is performed, the checkout is ‘lost’ and has to be performed again.
2. A different user logs in to check in the data.
3. Some users run ArcGIS Desktop from a server, for example, Citrix Server. The transaction log may be stored on the server machine and is not accessible when they try to check in.
4. Some users have their user settings (including Documents & Settings) stored on a server, and when they log in locally to a PC, it is synchronized with the server. If they check out, log off, then later log in, the check-in button may be disabled, because the transaction log has been overwritten on the local machine when the user settings were synchronized.
Instructions provided describe how to perform a 'Fake' Checkout: