English

Bug: The history toolbox cannot be turned off/disabled in scripting

Description

Each time an ArcGIS application closes, it saves a model with all the processes that were run during that session. This model is stored in a toolbox named 'History' in the 'My Toolboxes' directory. For more details see ArcGIS Desktop help.

This logging functionality can be disabled for ArcMap, ArcCatalog and ArcScene, but it is not possible to disable it for Scripting. Therefore, all geoprocessing operations occuring in scripts are always logged in the history toolbox.

Cause

There is no method or property on the Geoprocessor to disable this.

Workaround

It is not possible to prevent the logging of scripting geoprocessing operations in the history model. To keep the file smaller, manually delete the History toolbox file, or use the scripting language to do so.