English

How To: Unregister Feature Class as versioned

Summary

Instructions provided describe how to unregister a feature class as versioned.

Procedure

  1. To unregister a feature class as versioned, it may be necessary to first add the 'Unregister As Versioned' command to ArcCatalog.

    A. In ArcCatalog, select Tools > Customize.
    B. On the Toolbars tab, check Context Menus.
    C. Click the Context Menus menu.
    D. Click the Commands tab in the Customize dialog box.
    E. Click Geodatabase tools.
    F. Click the arrow next to the Enterprise Standalone Feature Class Context Menu.
    G. Click and drag the 'Unregister as versioned' command from the Commands list and drop it on the context menu. The command appears in the context menu.
    H. Click the arrow next to the Enterprise Feature Dataset Context Menu.
    I. Click and drag the 'Unregister as versioned' command from the Commands list and drop it on the context menu. The command appears in the context menu.
    J. Click Close on the Customize dialog box.

  2. In the ArcCatalog tree, right-click the feature dataset, feature class, or table to unregister as versioned.
  3. Select Unregister As Versioned.

    Note:
    Only the owner of the data may register or unregister the object as versioned.


    Warning:
    When unregistering a dataset or feature class as versioned in ArcCatalog, a warning dialog box may appear informing you that outstanding edits still remain in existing versions. Unregistering the class as versioned will remove all the edits. To preserve the edits, it is necessary to compress the database before registering the data as versioned. See Related Information.

Related Information