Is This Content Helpful?
We're glad to know this article was helpful.
Under some circumstances, grids will be deleted from a workspace and new ones created in its place with the same name. The new grid data, in ArcMap, displays the same as an old one after the original went through a KILL in ArcInfo Workstation.
AUX and RRD files are left behind when using the KILL command in Workstation. Workstation does not recognize these files as part of the grid dataset because they are specific to the Desktop environment. As a result, to KILL the grid does not remove them. When creating another grid with the same name, ArcGIS will assume the AUX and RRD files are associated with the new dataset.
The old AUX and RRD files must be deleted to display the new information correctly. The AUX file for a raster contains information pertaining to statistics, temporary georeferencing information or any other important information about the raster that cannot be stored elsewhere. It also contains information that tells ArcGIS if an RRD file has been created for the dataset. The remnant AUX tells ArcMap, for example, that an RRD file already exists for the raster so the pyramids are not updated for the new dataset. When the raster is added to ArcMap, ArcMap displays the pixels from the old RRD. The display appears to be the old data.